The Top Asia Cup Captains with the Most Wins


Colombo, Sri Lanka, will host the Super Four stage of the 2023 Asia Cup following a two-day break due to the absence of any planned games on September 7 and September 8. At the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Wednesday, Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by seven wickets in the opening game of the Asia Cup 2023 Super 4 stage. The Super Four stage will resume on September 9 with Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, following a two-day pause (September 7 and 8).

The Asia Cup’s Super 4 stages will follow the original schedule, with all of the games taking place in Colombo. Concerns over the matches taking place in Colombo, which has been experiencing a lot of rain, have existed ever before India’s Group B match against Pakistan was cancelled last Saturday in Pallekele. The Pakistan Cricket Board agreed to the Sri Lanka Cricket’s suggestion to move the event to Hambantota. However, because India has continued to express reluctance to travel to Hambantota, the last match of the Super 4 stage and the other five matches will take place in Colombo as scheduled. Asia Cup Super Four stage has the schedules as follows-

The top cricket teams from Asia gather for the thrilling Asia Cup event to compete for the title. Six nations will compete in the 50-over format in 2023, comprising Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Nepal, and Bangladesh. As these sides get ready for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup, this event is crucial. In this article, we are going to have a look at the top ten cricket captains in terms of Asia Cup victories.

The legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who has had a fantastic career as the captain of the Indian cricket team, is at the top of the list. India won the Asia Cup under Dhoni’s leadership in 2010 and 2016, and he has a record of 9 wins, 4 defeats, and 1 tie in 14 games. Arjun Ranatunga, who was closely behind, was instrumental in Sri Lanka’s victory in the 1996 World Cup and won 9 of his team’s 13 games in the Asia Cup. Misbah-ul-Haq, Moin Khan, and Rohit Sharma are some other prominent captains on this list, all of whom left their marks on the illustrious competition. Fans anxiously anticipate more exhilarating moments on the cricket pitch as the Asia Cup progresses.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

It is not at all unexpected that Mahendra Singh Dhoni is at the top of the list of captains with the most victories in the Asia Cup. Dhoni has received several awards while donning the Indian Blue, and the Asia Cup is no exception. 2010 and 2016 saw India triumph under his captaincy. Dhoni’s record as captain in 14 Asia Cup games is 9 wins, 4 losses, and 1 draw.

Arjun Ranatunga

In 1996, Sri Lanka won the World Cup under the direction of Arjun Ranatunga. In the 1990s, Aruja’s personality had a significant influence on Sri Lanka as a whole. Nobody ever thought Sri Lanka would win the world championship, but they accomplished so with Arjuna Ranatunga’s help. Arjuna is the Asia Cup captain with the second-highest total of victories. This Sri Lankan talisman led Sri Lanka to victory 9 times out of 13 Asia Cup games.


For many years, Misbah-ul-Haq was Pakistan’s lone fighter. Misbah has often stood tall and led Pakistan to at least a respectable position, especially when every batsman around him used to chuck his wicket. Pakistan has won 7 of the 10 games in which Misbah has served as captain at the Asia Cup. Pakistan won the Asia Cup in 2012 under Misbah’s leadership, their first since 2000.

Moin Khan

When Pakistan won the Asia Cup in 2000, Moin Khan served as the team’s captain. The rivalry between him and Rashid Latif for the wicketkeeping position was fierce. Moin Latif was consistently selected before Rashid Latif despite the fact that Moin had far superior pure batting skills than Rashid. It’s interesting to note that Moin is the only captain in Asia Cup history with a perfect winning percentage. In the Asia Cup, he had led Pakistan six times as captain, and each time, the outcomes had gone in his favor. 

Rohit Sharma

Unexpectedly, Rohit Sharma’s name appears on the list of Asia Cup captains with the most victories. Rohit has led India as its captain seven times, winning six of them. Only if India wins games might he reach the top of the leaderboard in this Asia Cup. This may well rank among the pinnacles of an already illustrious career.

As of right now, Rohit Sharma has scored the fourth-most runs in Asia Cup history. This Indian captain and right-handed batsman has 830 runs in 24 games. For the Asia Cup, Rohit needs 390 more runs to surpass him as the leading run-scorer. With 1220 runs, Sanath Jayasuriya now holds the record for most runs scored. For Indian cricket fans, seeing Rohit Sharma even get close to the astounding total of 1220 would be a wonderful sight, especially with the next ODI World Cup just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *